Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 89 April 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:31 am
Tags: , , ,

Yesterday was a crazy busy day installing gardens.  I actually had a glass of Way Back When Dairy milk for breakfast, which I never do.  I was rushing around like crazy, and had nothing planned for lunch, so I got turkey panini  sandwiches from Sweetish Hill to go, for my team.  I like Sweetish Hill and they have grab and go sandwiches that have saved me from eating less healthy food in a hurry.  For dinner, I made a simple garden lettuce salad, with farmer’s market tomatoes, shaved Brazos Valley parmesan, and Texas Olive Ranch Olive oil and balsamic vinegar.  I re-heated some of the brisket I smoked earlier in the week and roasted some market asparagus which I also topped with parmesan.

I’m so looking forward to fresh strawberries from my garden, which should be ripening soon.  The plants are covered with little green berries now and I’m expecting quite a yield.  No signs of blackberries yet, but should be soon.  The lemon and lime trees are covered with wonderful smelling flowers and I’m looking very forward to citrus.

 

Leave a Reply

