Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, Day 84 March 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:53 am
Tags: , ,

I’m thawing a brisket for my first attempt at smoking a brisket, which begins at some insane time tonight, for tomorrow’s dinner.  I’m skeered.

For breakfast, I had a scrambled egg.  For lunch I took mom to a new place, advertising “Farm to Table” , to check it out.  24 Diner on Lamar and 6th in the old Waterloo.  They do have a board that shows where some of their produce comes from and it is local.  Kudos to them.  I had a salad and mom had a burger, and we both wished they would turn down the music and tell the bus person not to throw plates into the sink.  It was loud and I hate hearing kitchen chaos.    But the food was good.

For dinner, I met some friends to celebrate my friend Lisa’s birthday.  Lisa is an amazing cook and write about her cooking on a wonderful blog,  http://www.lisaiscooking.blogspot.com.  We had drinks and snacks, then two of us set out for substantial food dinner at Lambert’s.  We split the brisket and the quail, the soup and a salad.   All of it was really good.  Oh, and the green chile cheese grits.  Yes, that are the best.

Alrighty, off to 3 markets this morning, downtown, Sunset Valley and Barton Creek.  I’ll report back.

Oh!  I almost forgot.  I got some really interesting products in the mail from http://www.secretsalts.com .  Chorizo salt and truffle salt.  I’m excited to try them both, especially the chorizo salt.

Chorizo and Truffle salt

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, Day 84”

  1. Ryan Murphy Says:

    I believe you are the third person I’ve seen give a mini-review of 24 Diner, and each person has a different opinion of it, but it seems pretty consistent that the food is pretty good. I really need to get over there.

    I concur on the plate smashing sounds coming from a restaurant kitchen though, it is one of those things that can completely ruin an experience.

    Look forward to hearing about the salt!

  2. Hey Ryan,
    If you go to 24 Diner, let me know what you think.
    Carla


Leave a Reply

