Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store, day 83 March 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:07 am
Tags: , ,

For breakfast, black coffee (still out of milk!) and a scrambled egg.  Lunch was 2 of the Kocurek’s new franks, some of their spicy mustard, and Full Quiver Cheddar.  Yum!  The franks have none of the squishy hot dog texture a grocery store has, but are meaty and wonderful, and of course made with Richardson pork and other local ingredients.  Their mustard is amazing as well.  I have Friday night party plans, so I moved Family Dinner night to Thursday and we ate at Eddie V’s, my dad’s favorite spot.  I had grouper, asparagus, and salad.

The Truck Farm Farmer’s Market was hopping and had some new vendors.  One notable vendor, Humble House Foods, a couple from San Antonio making cheese.  They had a Camembert that was wonderful.  There was also a Chocolate vendor, Art Y Chocolate, I think.  I didn’t try any, but it looks great.  Springfield Farms, had loads of gorgeous lettuce, spring onions, cilantro and broccoli.  I love those folks, great people.  I got some Moroccan lamb rillettes from Kocurek Family Charcuterie, some amazing cut flowers from Blue House (Suzie is awesome!) and of course, Kelly Jo’s Cilantro Salsa.  I’m very much looking forward to milk at the market on Saturday.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store, day 83”

  1. Optimista Says:

    I love Arte Y Chocolate! Somebody gave me a box of their chocolates for Christmas and they were lovely to look at and delicious.

  2. My mom loved what I got for her, and it was really pretty.


Leave a Reply

