Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Spring Garden, 2010 March 23, 2010

Much of the excitement in my garden is from things I planted in the winter, for harvest in Spring.  I’m excited to get tomatoes and peppers in , but the real excitement is for the strawberries which look amazing, and look like they will provide a bountiful harvest.

Strawberry patch The onions present a challenge for me year after year, because I’m an impatient gardener and really want to know what’s going on under the soil where I can’t see.  So, I always pull one up early.  This is fine, as they are just immature onions, or Spring onions, but my goal is to maximize my harvest, so I need to wait another 6 weeks or so.

Onions

Spring onion

I am a sucker for two things, plants already growing food, and plants closer to bearing fruit than mine.  Hence, this cheat of a tomato plant I picked up at Sledd Nursery yesterday, because it was covered with flowers.  It’s a Celebrity.

Cheater tomato plant

I still have lettuce coming out my ears, and it needs to be eaten soon, before it gets much warmer.

lettuce

I’m headed outside right now to water, plant more peppers and tomatoes, and corn and turtle  beans.  The corn and beans are new for me.  I’ll keep ya’ll posted.

 

2 Responses to “Spring Garden, 2010”

  1. Caroline Says:

    I have the same lettuce “problem” you do. Thinking we might have to eat salad for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Spinach salad for breakfast? Why not? It has bacon & eggs on it!

  2. It’s not a bad problem to have! I’ve been contemplating a BLT salad. Maybe today.


Leave a Reply

