Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

New Garden Project March 15, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 4:28 pm
Tags:

I hate Nandina.  It is all over my neighborhood, and is supposed to be really hard to get rid of.  I think it’s related to bamboo, but am not sure about that, and don’t care enough to look it up.  The more food I grow, the more I hate that I’m watering plants that I don’t even like, when I could be growing more food.    There is a strip of sunny space along my driveway, that I’ve always eyed for another raised garden.  Today, I got a wild hare (hair?) and decided to start that project.  It is amazing what a determined girl, with a party to go to in several hours, a hacksaw, and a grubbing hoe can do.

Evil Nandina Before

Future new garden

 

2 Responses to “New Garden Project”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Hooray! I despite nandina and heartily congratulate you on your endeavor. Nandina is right down there in Hades with red tip photinia. Blech!

  2. It was really difficult to get it out. The roots were a florescent yellow, and so were the worms! Crazy.


Leave a Reply

