Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 65 March 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:43 am
Tags: , , ,

I so enjoy weekend breakfast.  I’ve learned a useful new trick with eggs, too.  The duck eggs are a bit denser than chicken eggs, maybe because of the larger yolk.  Adding a little water to the scramble, lightens them up and makes them fluffy as can be.    I had scrambled duck eggs, and 2 slices of bacon from Richardson Farm’s pork belly, made for me by a friend.  I chopped up some green onions, and a pepper I got at the Triangle market.

Still full from late breakfast, I just snacked on carrots for lunch.  Honestly, I’m getting really tired of carrots.

For dinner, I adapted a recipe from an old cookbook, that is filled with recipes calling for cream of mushroom soup and bags of noodles.    I got a kick out of re-reading this cookbook, and recalling all the congealed salads my mom used to make.  If there was an occasion, she’d make something containing jello, and stick it in a mould.   So, I had 2 Richardson’s pork chops thawed.  I chopped up more carrots, and green onions, and put 2 cups of Lowell Farms brown rice in a casserole dish, with lots of thyme from my garden, and the vegetables.  I put the seared pork chops on top and poured over Kocurek duck stock for the liquid.  After an hour in the oven, the house smelled wonderful and out came dinner.  The end result was exactly and I wanted it to be.  A culinary masterpiece?  Not even close.  A warm cozy meal for a lazy rainy day?  Spot on.  And there are leftovers.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 65”

  1. I like your trick of adding water to the duck eggs. I’ll try that sometime.

    I finally posted my 100% wild sourdough 100% Texas ingredients (except the salt) bread recipe. No yeast required!

    Your casserole sounds delicious. Good going!


Leave a Reply

