Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Day 58, NGSC, Hope Market and Kocurek Class February 28, 2010

I’m getting a jump on this weeks postings, because I have a crazy arse week.  Election judging all day Tuesday, which is about a 16 hour gig, and then catching up on work that will be postponed because of rain tomorrow.

Sooooo,

Today I slept in – until 8:30, worked in the garden, weeding (even the potted herbs have weeds now) pulling up spent winter plants, headless cabbage, undeveloped fennel, and freeze burned lettuce.  I thinned the watermelon radishes some more, but not enough.  Then I headed to the HOPE Market, HOPING there would be a coffee vendor there, since I’m out, and there was none in San Antonio.

No coffee, but the market was buzzing with activity on a glorious day.  My friend, Chris from Vital Farms was back after a hiatus.  (His or mine?  not sure).  And Kerby Lane Cafe was there cooking up a storm with local products, so I ordered lunch.  A savory quesadilla.

Pictures of someone elses's, cuz I'd already eaten mine

Kerbey Lane Market Menu

Cooking the quesadillas

So, after filling up on Kerbey Lane’s local goodness, I discovered another new HOPE Market vendor.

Retro Bizaro Sweet Goodness

Old School treats, done right

Next, I was off and running to the Pate & Terrine Class, held by Larry of Kocurek Family Artisanal Charcuterie, at their kitchen on the East side.  On the menu was Pate de Maison, Aspic, Pate de Campagne,  and Country Duck Terrine.

We started off with the Pate de Campagne, the more complicated of the recipes.

Mixing it up

Ready to Cook

Pouring water bath into pates and terrines in oven

Loads of livers and butter for Pate de Maison

This class was hands on and informative and really fun.  I met some cool peeps, became overly chatty with some (sorry Larry) and had a great time.  I learned a lot as I always do with the Kocureks and highly recommend their classes.  They have 2 per month, and they sell out quickly.    The next class with availability is (I believe) late March, and is the rabbit class.  Look for seafood sausage and terrine classes in April.

So, I raced home to sell an Earthbox to a customer, then pondered dinner.  Tired, I was looking for low effort comfort food.  It is cold and windy again, dang it all to Hades.

So, I pulled out the Tilapia I got from the Pearl Market yesterday, seasoned it with salt and pepper, and quick sauteed it in Elevated Artisal’s garlic confit, olive oil, and Elevated’s butter.  I stuck some Lowell Farms Brown rice on to simmer, plucked some parsley and had one of the best dinners I’ve made in a while.  I rarely photograph my own food, but this was really good.  I know, no vegetables, so sue me.  I’m happy.  That rice is amazing, nutty, and perfect.  The tilapia was fresh, tender, sweet and wonderful.   I’m stuft and tired and dreading a stressful week.  So forgive me if I get behind, this week.  Thanks for all the love, right back at you all.

Goodness

 

6 Responses to “Day 58, NGSC, Hope Market and Kocurek Class”

  1. Margaret Says:

    Hi Carla, I was in the Terrine class with you yesterday. It was great fun wasn’t it? I’m sorry we didn’t get a chance to chat more, I didn’t realize till this morning that you are the one on the ‘no grocery store’ challenge! I’d love to tap your knowledge of local restaurants and food sources. I’m a new transplant and just beginning to dive into the food scene in Austin!

    Best of luck with your efforts, hope to meet you again someday.

    • Hey Margaret! It was a fun class, I’ll be taking more of them. I doubt I’ll take one where we have to break down an entire beast, but I really enjoyed yesterday’s. My email is cscrown@swbell.net, and I’m happy to share information with you. I’ve learned a lot. Did we talk about Slow Food Austin? Trying to put a name with a face. I’m slightly obsessed with the food scene in Austin, and will be happy to share with you what I know. I’m so glad you commented, lets keep chatting. Thanks!

  2. Bill Hines Says:

    where are you judge? I’m helping with a few campaigns.

  3. Optimista Says:

    This post is so full of yumminess that I don’t know where to start! Retro Bizzaro (dying to try); pate (drooool); beautiful tilapia…livin’ the good life, my friend. Livin’ the good life.

    Good luck with your week! Mine is looking that way, too.


Leave a Reply

