Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 54 February 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:43 am
Tags: , ,

What a glorious day of wonderful sunshine after a day of snow.  Texas weather is really crazy.  I went out to uncover the garden, to avail it of this great sun, and it appeared to be full of weeds, just overnight.  I’m not sure how that is possible, for thank goodness for the farmer’s market, because there isn’t much edible in the garden right now.  Soon enough, I will have more than I can eat, but for now, not so much.

For breakfast, I had another of the grapefruits from the Saturday Farmer’s Market.   I really don’t like grapefruit, unless it is the Ruby Red variety, I must confess.

Lunch was a quick piece of cheese and a couple of carrots in the car, on my way to pick up Schlotskys again for my business partner.

At the Triangle Farmer’s Market, I got more carrots, some spinach, and an interesting saffron shrimp sausage from the Kocureks, who had a beautiful write up in the Statesman yesterday.  I was apprehensive about the shrimp sausage, but looking forward to something totally new.  I cut it into disks, as Larry advised, and cooked it briefly, as it was a fully cooked product.  I served it over the fresh spinach that I’d sauteed in the garlic confit from Elevated Artisinal.  It was all good, and I was happy to have something new and light.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 54”

  1. Local loaf is a success. You can check out the recipe and photos at:http://savortheearth.wordpress.com/.

    I still got a mind to bakin’ up the totally local sourdough rendition. I’ll keep you posted.

    Enjoy your challenge, I know I am!


Leave a Reply

