Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 52 February 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:32 pm
Tags:

If you read my planting guides, you’ll see that I am unable to get the Tab button to work in WordPress.  Sorry for this.  I’m computer challenged.

I promised to lighten it up and I did today.  For breakfast, I had a fairly sad grapefruit from the downtown market.  It is a bit late in the season for grapefruit, but he was there and I’m mostly fruitless, so I snagged some.  And I was tired of eggs and don’t really like the granola carb laden breakfast that is possible.  I might change my mind.

Lunch was a couple of leftover babyback ribs.  I didn’t want to eat much because my afternoon was filled with physical labor installing gardens and rainwater collection plumbing.  I’m outdoorsy like that.  🙂  Working outside doing physical things makes me happy.  So much better than sitting in a dimly lit office, with bad carpet and small windows.  Sun, sky, fresh air and movement are amazing.

I had planned to be really creative for dinner, but all that physical activity made me too tired to drag out all my pots and pans for the sausage, feta, rice casserole I printed a recipe for.    I could barely lift my keys to open the door after shoveling so much soil, so cooking was not an option.  I tore up some Bella Verdi lettuce, crumbled on some Pure Luck Hopelessly Blue, (I know it doesn’t really crumble) and tossed with Texas Olive Ranch Oil and Pomegranate vinegar, and had that with more leftover smoked ribs.

I’ll be better tomorrow, since we are going to be socked in with snow all dang day.

Something I’ve been missing on this challenge, more and more, is the ability to get boneless, skinless chicken breasts, or even just bone-in, skin-on breasts.  I only have a supplier for the whole chicken, which I am not accomplished at breaking down.  And, I don’t really ever eat dark meat, which accounts for a lot of the chicken, especially if it hasn’t been pumped so full of hormones, that it can’t stand up under the weight of the breasts, which happens in farmed chickens.  So, I think the solution will be to get more seafood, from San Miguel at the downtown market.  I often have dinner plans on Saturday night, and would rather eat it fresh, but I’m thinking one day won’t be a problem.  I just need to back off of the pork and beef for a while.  Ideas?  Please send them my way!

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 52”

  1. I’m trying to remember the name of the folks that sell chicken parts at Sunset Valley. I don’t know if they are there every week, but I certainly have seen them recently. I’ll let you know when I found out.

    I just achieved fully delicious success on sourdough loaves leavened w/o added yeast. I developed my own wild culture with Richardson Farms whole wheat flour. I don’t know if you have access to yeast, but in the spirit of your challenge I thought I’d try that out.
    It’s not 100% whole wheat bread. I will work on that next and let you know how it turns out. These are not “sandwich bread” loaves, of course, but panini-style sandwiches and of course open-face preparations are possible.

    Good luck to you. If you have to eat just fish and veggies and rice every day that’s not too bad, actually!

    • Thank you so much! You are very kind. I do have yeast. I ordered the Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes a Day book, and will see if it has any options. Their other book, Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day is great, so I’m looking forward to receiving it. I’ll be visiting the Pearl Farmer’s Market this Saturday in San Antonio, and I’m looking forward to some different options. I’ll check out Sunset Valley soon, for chicken part people. Thanks for the bread experiment, I look forward to hearing how it goes.


Leave a Reply

