Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 51 February 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:42 am
Tags: ,

After a late night, with no dinner, a big brunch was in order.  So, I squeezed one of the grapefruits I got at the Downtown Farmer’s Market and had some juice.  Then I cooked some bacon made by a friend from Richardson’s pork belly, and fried a Countryside Farms duck egg, and a small chicken egg given to me from a garden client from her backyard chicken flock.

Around 11:00, I pulled out the babyback ribs from Richardson Farms, that I had been thawing for 2 days, doused them with olive oil, and seasonings, and shoved them in the smoker.  I smoked them for 6 hours really low, and had them for dinner with a strange salad I made from garden fennel, grapefruit, and Full Quiver Feta.  This was a very odd choice to accompany the ribs, but it is what I had on hand, and I needed to pull the fennel to start amending the soil for Spring gardening season.

I’ve come to the conclusion by the way my pants fit (or don’t) that I need to lighten up my eating.  I’ve given myself an excuse, this challenge, to eat way more bacon, eggs and cheese than I ever have.  So, I’ll be making some adjustments in the days to come.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 51”

  1. Optimista Says:

    I’m surprised to hear that you’re gaining weight (or, at least, that you think you’re gaining weight, as you certainly don’t look like you have). You’ve been eating really low carb, which has always had the opposite effect on me when I can stick to it (which is pretty much never).


Leave a Reply

