Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 47 February 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:28 am
Tags: , ,

For breakfast yesterday, I had a duck egg, baked with a little grated parmesan, fresh garden thyme, and a little milk on top to prevent browning.  It was my version of a recipe I saw on Lyon in the Kitchen which is on FitTV, I think.  It was good.

Another busy day installing gardens, so all I got for lunch again was a couple hunks of cheese.   My garden crew wanted Schlotzky’s, so i picked them up some sandwiches.  It smelled so good, but I refrained.

Dinner was a couple of ground bison tacos, on whole wheat tortillas.  They aren’t bad, but I’ll be happy to learn how to lighten up the tortilla recipe.

My jasmine rice arrived from Lowell Farms!  Lowell Farms grows rice in El Campo, Texas and I ordered it online.  It is certified organic, and I’m happy to have it.

I picked up a brisket and some ribeye’s from Richardson Farms at the Triangle Farmer’s Market yesterday.  I’m happy to have some beef, and will smoke the brisket, as soon as I have 15 or so hours to hang out at home.  Maybe Sunday.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 47”

  1. Good job on the jasmine rice. Lowell Farms has been my favorite for years and we eat rice almost every day so I finally started ordering it. It’s much cheaper than buying it at the store.

    I read about your challenge and am wondering if you have tried to bake a wild yeast sourdough bread with Richardson Farms whole wheat flour. The King Arthur Whole Grain Baking Book gives detailed instructions for starting your own 100% whole grain levain and baking a 100% whole grain loaf without anything else added but water and salt.

    It sounds like you’re missing bread. Maybe that recipe would work out for you.

    Didn’t find your tortilla recipe. Are you using lard?

    Good luck on the challenge. Sounds challenging!

    • Thank you, I need to get that book. I could buy Texas French Bread at the Farmer’s Market, but I really wanted to make my own. The tortilla recipe is this:
      * 2 cups whole wheat flour
      * 1 tsp baking powder
      * 1/2 tsp salt
      * 2 T olive oil
      * 1/2 cup warm tap water
      So I have not used lard. I can get lard and duck fat from Dai Due and Kocureks’, so that might make the tortillas better. I’m really looking forward to making the rice; I bought brown and white jasmine. Thanks for the comments!


Leave a Reply

