Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 43 February 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

What an amazing day!  I enjoyed being out in the sun most of the day, in spite of the cold.  The Austin Farmer’s Market was great, and I was happy to be with so many friends there.    Larry Kocurek was back, after the birth of their son, and had some amazing new charcuterie items.  The new sausage I am most interested to try, is called a Farmer’s Sausage, and has bacon in it.  Please.  I got some ribeyes from Fredericksburg Farms, some new basalmic vinegar called True Love, that is infused with honey and rose, from Texas Olive Ranch.  I got Texas Coffee Trader’s Coffee, and some chicken and mushroom sausage from Dai Due.  I have lots of veggies still from last week and in the garden.

For brunch, my friend Kristi of http://www.austinfarmtotable.com fame, and I split Dai Due Gumbo, and the Dai Due chorizo and duck egg torta.  Dai Due uses all locally sourced products in their amazing food.  I couldn’t decide which I liked better, they were both so good.

So then I stopped by Antonelli’s Cheese Shop in Hyde Park, to witness their amazing success on Day 3 of being open.  I’m very proud of, and happy for them.  When I got home, I had some of the Brazos Valley parmesan I got a couple of days ago for a mid afternoon snack.

For dinner I had a wonderful Cuban Sandwich at Habana on South Congress with my friend Cecilia.  I had never been there, and was truly impressed.  Great sandwich and delicious Sangria.  I’ve got lots of menu planning to do tomorrow for my week ahead, and I plan to solve the lazy breakfast problem.  But, I’ve got one more restaurant meal this weekend, Fino tomorrow for brunch.  I’m happy that Fino sources locally when possible, so that will be good, and I’ll have a homemade local dinner.

Friends at the Farmer's Market

Food Blogger/farmer pow wow

 

6 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 43”

  1. Optimista Says:

    I think EVERYONE was at Antonelli’s today. Including me. I’m in love. I bought two cheeses and Chris and I devoured them both immediately. Delicious.

  2. Cedarparkgardner Says:

    Thanks so much for showing me around. It was great. I made snapper mueinere. It was fantanstic.

  3. Jodi Says:

    Thank you for the duck eggs, Carla. Adam and I haven’t tried them yet but we will report back when we do. It was great being at the market with y’all too.


Leave a Reply

