Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 42 February 12, 2010

Today was a pretty good day.  I had cold bacon in the kitchen while waiting for coffee, for the last time.  I’m going to fix that this weekend.  I wanted to eat locally for lunch, so after my relatively positive eye Dr. appointment (ulcer finally healing!), I picked up my mom, and we went to Cipollina, on West Lynn for a locally sourced lunch.  We were in a hurry so, I ordered the Ceasar Salad with Dewberry Farms Chicken.  Kudos to Cipollina for embracing the slow food movement, and buying so much of their food from local farms.  This place is on my daily travel route, and I’ve been eating there since they opened.  I think they lost their way for a while, when they reconfigured the space and changed the way they did business.  But then something clicked in, they found out who they wanted to be, and now they are rocking all the damn time.  I highly recommend everything there.  Seriously good food.

I spent the afternoon taking my mother to appointments, (she no longer drives)  then our normal Friday family dinner.  Tonight, because I wanted to eat early and close to home, we went to Corazon at Castle Hill.  I still miss Castle Hill, and never understood the remake.  I had a salad and the beef tenderloin and it was good.

I also stopped by Antonelli’s Cheese Shop earlier today, to get the entire account of their first day yesterday.  It sounded amazing.  The neighborhood came in and brought gifts, and the neighboring businesses lended their support as well, by feeding Kendall and John and offering their encouragement throughout the day.  What a fabulous start to a great local business, with some really great folks at the helm.  I’m so happy for them.  Seeing people living their dream is awesome inspiration.

Here is a great write up of Antonelli’s Cheese from Addie Broyles from the Austin American Statesman:

http://www.austin360.com/blogs/content/shared-gen/blogs/austin/food2/entries/2010/02/11/antonellis_cheese_shop_brings.html

I have lots of eating out this weekend, tomorrow night, and Sunday Brunch,  but am going to try to eat as locally as possible while on my own.  There will be no cooking unless I make breakfast tomorrow, or dinner Sunday.   I’ll be happy if I can have 1 local meal a day.  Tomorrow lunch will be at Dai Due at the Farmer’s Market.  I really don’t want to impose my crazy little challenge on anyone else, and certainly don’t want to be that girl with all the eating restrictions, that I don’t get invited out.  I’m not trying to kill my social life, but just want to be more aware of the food I eat, where it comes from, and to learn how to make better choices.  I think I’m on the right track.

After dinner tonight, and telling my folks about the Tasty Up Trailer Tour, I decided to drive them by Gourgoughs and Odd Duck, so I could see where they are.  I’m not a big sweets eater, but decided to get a couple of donuts for my parents for dessert.  There was a line of about 10 people, and after perusing the menu, I ordered a donut with heath bar shavings, and one with cream cheese and jalapeno jelly.  I tried neither, but they just called to report, that this trailer is not a fad, the food is really good.  Go figure.  Big fat donuts, with crazy stuff on them.  Doh! Nuts.

 

Leave a Reply

