Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 41 February 12, 2010

Another rainy day, and I feel bad complaining, since we always need rain.  I’m looking forward to sun and I can see some blue sky poking through the clouds this morning from my office window.

Yesterday I didn’t manage any breakfast.  My friends, John and Kendall Antonelli had their opening day of their cheese shop, Antonelli’s Cheese, so I headed over to their Hyde Park Shop on Duval around noon, and was happy to see several friends.  And Bill, that includes you.  John gave us tastings of several of his favorite cheeses, all wonderful.  But my mission was to purchase local cheeses, and I was really excited about the parmesan he had found for me.  It is from Brazos Valley Farms and its great.  It isn’t as aged as what you would get from Italy, but it it still very tasty and fills the parmesan void.  I also got some chevre from CKC, Cheddar from Veldhuizen, and Hoplessley Blue from Pure Luck.

Lactose Intelorent Chart

After sampling (and buying) cheese, we headed over to Asti for lunch.  I had trout and green beans.

For dinner, I ate the leftover Kocurek cassoulet and a salad with lettuce from my garden, onions from the Farmer’s Market, and Texas Olive Ranch Oil and Basalmic.

I’d like to keep posting about restaurants with gardens.  I have one other that I know about, Hudson’s on the Bend, but if you know of any others, please let me know.  This can’t be all of them, surely?

 

4 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 41”

  1. Cedarparkgardner Says:

    It was great to see you. The shop was really cool. I’m sorry I had to rush off. I bought some camambert. I can’t wait to try it. Hope to catch you at the downtown market tomorrow.

    Oh yea, It was really neat to be mentioned.

    Bill

  2. Optimista Says:

    Surprisingly enough, Roy’s has a garden out in front of the restaurant.

    Also, if you count this as a restaurant, Central Market Café has a little garden…


Leave a Reply

