Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 40! February 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:09 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Today was a bit of a challenge.  It probably would have been easier, if I had eaten better.  The rain has us behind in our garden/rainwater collection business, so thinking the rain, snow and sleet wasn’t to begin until late this afternoon, we set out to make some big things happen.

Five Thousand Gallon Rainwater System

And we got it in.

Sigh of relief

Yep, its muddy, but it soon will be connected with lines run to each of the 6, 4′ x 16′ x 18″ gardens  we will install over the next week, weather permitting.  We got one in today, but I don’t have a good picture of it.

So, for my 40th day of the no grocery store challenge, I didn’t eat well, at least not yet.   I had a slice of Kocurek paprika bacon, cold again, for breakfast.    I’m going to remedy this problem in the next week, by making an egg casserole or quiche or something, that I can zap in the microwave and eat quickly in the morning.  Enough breakfast silliness, I’ve got duck and chicken eggs galore, tons of bacon and sausages, mushrooms, green onions and cheeses.  Just silly, really, and lazy.  And, I didn’t manage to eat lunch.  I went from a disappointing eye appointment, straight to the jobsite and lunch just didn’t happen.

But, for dinner, I planned ahead, woot!  I defrosted a Kocurek Family Charcuterie Cassoulet, and it is in the oven now, topped with the seasoned bread crumbs that came with it.   I will enjoy it with some wine and a huge fire, because it is hard to get warm working outside in sleet with wet shoes for hours.

In other brilliant news, Blake and Skylar from Elevated Artisinal Cuisine are now at the Triangle Farmer’s Market.  It was great to see them again, as I hadn’t seen them yet this year.  And they had butter and garlic confit today!  Two of the things I’ve been missing so, butter and garlic.  I also ordered a brisket and a couple of ribeyes from Richardson Farms, to pick up next week.  Always exciting to have beef on hand.

My feet are cold, and I am really tired, but the delicious aroma of cassoulet is wafting through the house, the fire is roaring, we got some big work done, and life is good.  I’m happy that the drought is over and the lakes are at least near full again.  Bring on the snow!

Elevated Artisinal Butter and Garlic Confit

 

Leave a Reply

