Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 39 February 9, 2010

Almost 40 days now, that I have not been in a grocery store.  That seems so strange, because the grocery store was like entertainment for me.  At least, Central Market and Whole Foods were.   I always left both stores with things I didn’t intend to buy.   I do miss the grazing on Saturdays, I must admit.   And, I’m realizing now how much I relied on already prepared food.  Chicken salad, salad bar salad, rotisserie chicken, soups, pre-made pizzas and whatever else looked good at that moment.  I have not reheated anything in the microwave for weeks.   Now, I shop with more purpose, and more of a plan.  Still not enough of a plan however, and I need to get better about that.  I was gone all day today, got home late, was grumpy and didn’t feel like cooking.  I don’t have much besides lettuce that doesn’t require cooking.  This was an evening that I typically would have picked up something already prepared from Food Food, or a P. Terry’s burger.   Not that doing either would have gone against my challenge, I’m just trying to reserve eating out for social activity with friends and family, not just laziness or convenience.

I ran out of toilet paper and dish soap this morning, and had to stop at CVS for the toilet paper, then go to Breed & Company, for the Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day dish soap that I use.  I used to get the TP at Costco, and the Mrs. Meyer’s at Fresh Plus.   A typical grocery/sundry shopping day might have included 3-5 stores.  Seriously.

So, for breakfast I had 2 slices of Kocurek paprika bacon, already cooked.  I ate it cold, standing in my kitchen, while waiting for my coffee.  Too lazy.  Lunch was a sad little salad of my garden lettuce, some hydroponic tomato from the Farmer’s Market, and some Full Quiver Mozzarella with Texas Olive Ranch olive oil and Pomegranate Basalmic.   I was rushed and ate that standing in my kitchen as well.   Dinner was Kocurek Roasted Garlic Sausage with stir fried garden broccoli and Farmer’s Market green onions.   I ate that while at the computer writing the prior blog post and answering emails.  Not really proud of that.

Do I have a meal plan for tomorrow?  No, I don’t.  Tomorrow is a busy day trying to make some progress on a large garden and rainwater collection system installation that has been on hold due to rain.  And more rain is coming.  And more jobs are on hold and stacking up.  The soil is wet and heavy trailers and wheelbarrows trench wet lawns, and we don’t want that.   The irony of having to put a rainwater collection job on hold, on account of endless rain does not escape me.   But rain is good, so I’m not complaining.   We’ll catch up.  Off to make a plan for food tomorrow.

Oh yea.  Antonelli’s Cheese Shop (unless I missed contrary news today) is opening in 2 days!  This Thursday, they will open their doors on Duval in Hyde Park.  I’m excited.  John and Kendall are great folks, and I think they are going to be a huge hit!

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 39”

  1. Cedarparkgardner Says:

    Woo hoo!
    325 to go.
    Keep up the good work.

    Bill

  2. Oy. 325 days sounds like a lot! Actually, its getting easier. I miss the idea of the grocery store more than actually grocery shopping. The farmer’s markets are so much more personable and interesting, and variety can be found. I just need to learn what to do with the variety I find! Hope you are well, Bill.


Leave a Reply

