Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

February Garden February 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:42 am
Tags: , , , ,

Finally, the sun is shining!  The rain had kept me from even peeking at my garden for days.  It looks great this morning, and I’m sure the sun will make it happy.  I have lots of lettuce ready to eat as well as a smallish crown of  broccoli.  The cabbages are absolutely gorgeous and healthy, but still don’t seem to be forming heads.  I’m not giving up just yet, I don’t need the garden space for another month, when it will be overhaul time to make room for tomatoes.  The carrots have sprouted, and the watermelon radishes are rocking along and in need of thinning, a task I don’t enjoy because it makes me feel wasteful.  But, I’ll do it, to give the little radishes the room they need to be big radishes.

Watermelon radishes

Carrot sprouts

Lettuce ready to eat

Headless cabbage

 

2 Responses to “February Garden”

  1. Caroline Says:

    Your cabbage looks like mine. 😦 What are we doing that cabbage doesn’t like?

    • I asked one of the farmers at the Austin Farmers Market this morning about my cabbage, and he said I probably didn’t water it enough, but I know that isn’t true. I’m not sure what the problem is. Sorry you are having the same problem. They do make pretty plants!


Leave a Reply

