Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 33 February 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:37 am
Tags:

Please forgive any typos, I have an ulcer on my left cornea and can’t see very well.  I went to the Dr. rather than the Triangle Farmer’s Market yesterday, so I didn’t get any of Elevated Artisinal’s butter and garlic that I was hoping for.  I hope they did well, in spite of the rain.

Short and sweet – Breakfast 1 slice homemade whole wheat, toasted, with the gifted, and newsworthy Ruby Red Marmalade ala the Cosmic Cowgirl.  Thanks Stephanie!

Lunch – a leftover shortrib.

Dinner – I had thawed a chicken to make Roasted Chicken with  lemons and olives, a recipe mentioned in the previous post.  When  you buy a chicken from Richardson Farm, or any farm I guess, it is whole.  No easy to manipulate pieces to easy the cooking process.  I needed to cook the chicken, but spent all afternoon in bed with an icepack on my eye and wasn’t in the mood to break down the chicken.  But, I figured I’d best plow through and get it done.  I cheated and used kitchen sissors for most of it, then broke out the bitcher knife for the breast bone.  The result was 2 wings, 2 legs, 2 breasts (I think I was supposed to remove the back bone, but didn’t) 1 normal looking thy and one giant thy.  How could that be?  The thies aren’t attached to each other.  So, I’m not sure what I did wrong, but the chicken tasted good, and I’m looking forward to making chicken salad with the leftovers.

 

4 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 33”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Yikes! Are you OK? Can we help with anything?

  2. Cedarparkgardner Says:

    Sorry to hear about your eye. Hope you feel better soon. Missed you at the market.

    Bill

    • Thank you so much Bill. The shooting dagger pain has subsided, so I must be on the mend. I hate eye stuff. I’m impressed that you went in the rain. I hope you got some good stuff. I’ll be back next week for sure and will be downtown on Saturday. That will be a week without grocery shopping, I guess I’m getting the hang of things. How is your garden? Mine needs work. Thanks for the kind words, Bill.


Leave a Reply

