Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 30 February 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 3:02 pm
Tags: , ,

Wow, I’m almost too tired to type.  I spent the day in my very cold garage, preparing garden timbers for a huge project we have going on.  The goal was to screw brackets on 180 timbers.  Didn’t get it all done.  I have maybe 25 left to do, but I can’t feel my right arm at the moment.  But, I digress…

Breakfast was an actual breakfast taco.  Sort of a break through, but the whole wheat tortilla was much better yesterday, while still fresh.  After the dough ball spent the night in the fridge, it was less pliable and not as good on the electric tortilla press.  Still, it felt like a treat.  Oh, in it was a Countryside Farm’s duck egg scrambled with Richardson Farms bulk sausage, and my homemade salsa, that I’m surprised is still good.

I tried the whole wheat bread recipe again, but added extra honey to make up for the molasses and extra olive oil to add flavor and moisture.  The bread didn’t rise as much as it did before.  It tasted a bit better, but was denser too.  So for lunch, I had a sample of bread which filled me up until dinner.  Pure whole wheat is very filling, and sits a bit heavily, in my opinion.   I may have a slight wheat allergy.  There were other indications, which I won’t go into detail here, but if self-propelling is your goal, eat more wheat.

So, for dinner, I was exhausted and not in the mood to cook a thing.  I really wanted the crack chicken from El Pollo Rico, but was even too lazy and tired to go get it.  As much as I love the crack chicken, and the crack green sauce that comes with it, I just wonder where those chickens come from and how those folks ever pass their health inspection.  I’m pretty sure they are not organic.  And the tasty pig parts that go into their beans probably aren’t either.   Oh well.  I will have the crack chicken again, because it is crack and I need it.

So, for dinner, once again,  I was too tired to make anything,  so I had a grilled cheese sandwich, with my freshly made, messed up dense whole wheat bread, pesto from my basil harvest, and full quiver cheddar.  It was awesome.   I might dream of flying tonight, fueled by my own wheat consumption.  TMI, I’m sure.  Just sayin

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 30”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Screwing brackets on *180* timbers? Dang, girl! You go!

    I think I should eat more wheat. (How’s THAT for TMI? ;))

  2. I think I’m going wheatless today. I wish I could lighten up that bread recipe. I need to keep experimenting.


Leave a Reply

