Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 25 January 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 5:12 pm
Tags:

Thankfully, something changed the pollen count, and I woke up feeling much better.  When I feel bad, the last thing I want to do is make food.  So, for breakfast today, I had a slice of Full Quiver Cheddar.  For lunch, I had a great salad of bibb lettuce from BellaVerdi, tomato from Engel Farms, Wateroak chevre, and for the big yum factor, smoked pork belly rillettes on top.  I made a Meyer lemon, olive oil dressing and voila!  I know, it looks really boring.

By the way, I think pictures of most of my food are very boring.  I love looking a pictures of  other people’s food.  Here is a photo of Christian’s glorious pizza from last Friday night.  He used Kocurek Hot Italian Sausage on one version, with carmelized onions, smoked mozzerella, and truffle oil.   Please.   I need a moment, just recalling the splendor.   He’s been working to perfect his crust for 3 years. Trust me it is perfect.  http://www.austinfoodjournal.com

The following night, I was fortunate to be fed by my friends Michelle and Chris.  Michelle writes http://www.foodieisthenewforty.com.  They are great cooks.  Below, Loncito’s lamb chops and mac and cheese.  I restrained myself on the mac and cheese, cuz of all those carbs and whatnot.  Then we decided to a challenge to see if we could finish the whole batch.  Big mistake.  So close, yet so far off in our thinking of waking up at our fighting weight.  Did not happen.

So tonight, I was honored to attend an event at The Carillon at the AT&T Conference Center and Hotel just off the UT campus.  I had not been before, but have always been a fan of Chef Josh Watkins.   Small tastings of the upcoming menu, were passed around for everyone to enjoy.    I am a person who cooks food, not a chef, so my descriptions will be sorely lacking.  I had a shooter of white bean soup, with scallop slice skewer; some amazing pork belly, a truffled tartar of what I believed to be beef, but another attendee thought it was tuna.  Hmm.  There was also a great eggplant spoonful, and I have no idea what was in it, but it was great!  I didn’t get around to the shortrib, because I got busy talking.  The reviews were perfect. I did ask Chef Watkins whether anything on the menu was locally sourced.  He said “no”.  That’s all good with me.   The food was fabulous.  I just had to ask because I’d like to know.

When I got home, I’d had a salad for lunch, and about 4 bites of food for dinner.  I could have eaten much more, it just kept coming.  I wasn’t really hungry, but not really full.  So I wanted something to knosh on when I got home.  This would have been the perfect situation for cheese and crackers, or popcorn.  Perhaps even a Progresso black bean and cheese tortilla.  All of these are my habitual go-to quick foods, which are not on my “no grocery store challenge.”  I’m realizing that I have no snacky food or frozen something to throw in the microwave for 3 minutes for instant hot food.  And I really miss the salty, cruncky snacks.  So, I pulled out some Johnson’s Backyard Farm carrots, and the Full Quiver Jalapeno Cheese Spread.   Crunch, spice, creaminess and really good!  Not chips and queso good, just yet, but maybe I’ll get there soon.  It’s all a learning curve, and I’l surely have some setbacks, but for now, I’m all good and having the time of my life!

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 25”

  1. Optimista Says:

    So great to see you tonight!

    That salad doesn’t look boring at all. It looks (and sounds!) fantastic!


Leave a Reply

