Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 23 January 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:13 am
Tags:

I had a good and bad food day.  For brunch, I made a duck egg, bacon, cheese and tomato omelette. (Countryside eggs, Kocurek bacon, Full Quiver Cheese and market tomato).  It was brilliant!  Duck eggs seem easier to work with, perhaps because of the larger yolk.  So it was very easy to fold the omelette.

After being outside all day preparing for a garden installation, and then the install, my allergies were worse than I’ve ever experienced.  By the time I got home, I couldn’t conceive of cooking dinner.  I just wanted to crawl in bed and stay there until cedar season is over.  But I needed to, so I seared the Thunderheart Bison Ribeye I had thawed, peeled and sliced some sweet potatoes from Johnson’s Backyard Garden, tossed them in olive oil, and stuck both in the oven.  My version of ‘”steak frites”.  The sweet potato fries were marginally OK.  I left the bison in too long, and perhaps shouldn’t have seared it.  Bison is very lean and needs special cooking.  I totally botched it and it was not good.   So a strange food day for sure.

 

Leave a Reply

