Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 19 January 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:17 pm
Tags: , ,

Again no breakfast, except coffee with goat milk.  I need to get better about that.  I met a new friend Jenny Peterson, of J. Peterson Designs Landscaping for lunch.  She suggested Central Market Cafe, and I agreed and met her there.  I have signs on my car for my garden company, didn’t want anyone who reads this to think I was cheating and shopping, so I parked as far away as possible from the grocery store.  Goofy, yes.  I had the grilled salmon salad, and it was as good as it always is.  Central Market used to be my go-to store, and as I peered into the store from the cafe, I did feel the desire to go grab a cart and start filling it up.  But, instead I went to the Triangle Market and the dinner I have in the oven promises to be amazing.  I thawed Kocurek Family garlic sausage for tonight, thinking I’d eat it with greens I had on hand.  But I spied some enormous portabello mushrooms and bought 3.  I also got some hydroponic tomatoes, and of course more Kocurek stuff, like I might die if my supply got too low.   When I opened the freezer to put today’s finds in, three packages bearing the Kocurek Family crest fell out, so I really need to eat what I have before buying more.  So, for dinner, I defrosted some of the pesto I made at the end of basil season, and spread it over the big mushroom (which I reamed out to hold more stuff).  I cut up a tomato and put that next, topped with the crumbled sausage, then crumbled some Made in the Shade Dairy goat feta on top of that and popped it into the oven.   I hope it is a great as it sounds.  (Took a blog break to eat the shroom.  So good, I’ll be making variations of this one again.)

I have had some longing for foods that I’m unable to get.  Garlic tops the list.  I’ve got some planted, but it will be months before I can harvest it.  Parmesan.  Perhaps I’ll fly to Italy and buy it local there.  Popcorn.  My favorite snack, topped with Parmesan.  Parmcorn, I call it.  And I had a craving for tuna salad a couple of days ago.  Otherwise, no problems and I’m eating great food and having fun learning to be more creative with my cooking.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 19”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Next year when you’re eating popcorn, you’ve got to try adding a little cayenne to the parmcorn. It’s delightful.

  2. Oh my. Cayenne parmcorn. That sounds awesome! Richardson Farms is going to start selling corn soon. I wonder if I can pop it.


Leave a Reply

