Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 16 January 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 3:47 am
Tags:

Today was easy, because I had it all to myself and could cook with wild abandon.  So, first up this morning, I massaged local olive oil into my Richardson’s Farm’s baby back ribs, seasoned them with garlic salt and pepper, and fired up the new smoker, this time using mesquite rather than hickory.  I put them in at 9:00.  Having received very disparate advice from a local chef, a local cooking school instructor and my dearest friend, who wins BBQ championships right and left, I didn’t know how long to cook them.  My smoker’s lowest temperature seems to be between 200 and 240, I can’t get it any lower.  I pulled the ribs out after 5 hours and they were amazing.  I shared them with my walking buddy and my folks, who seemed to love them as much as I did.

After putting the ribs in, I embarked upon my first 100% whole wheat bread making experience, using freshly milled Wheat from Richardson Farms.  I found a recipe that called for lots of water, yeast, olive oil and honey.  I had local olive oil and honey, so all good.  The recipe was really easy, and didn’t take much time.  The Kitchenaid does most of the work, with only nominal kneading.  I love the whole house smelling of yeasty bread cooking, it is so homey and wonderful.  The bread turned out way less dense that I had imagined a whole wheat bread could be.  I can’t wait to make pasta, and tortillas from it.

So, what I ate today:  duck egg omelette with goat cheese (eggs from Countryside Farms, Goat Cheese from Pure Luck dairy).  Lunch was a BLT with Kocurek bacon from Richardsons, my homemade bread, lettuce from my garden and tomato from Fredericksburg Farms from the market.

I munched on ribs all afternoon, so I didn’t really have dinner.  I’d love nothing more than to eat more yummy food, but I’ve been stuffed for hours.  I had promised to come up with a plan for the week today, but that is hard to do when you are as full as I am now.

Things I’m starting to miss:  avocados, of course; mayo, because I’ve been too lazy to make it; cold cuts for sandwiches; sandwiches, canned tuna; black beans;  El Milagro chips, (which I don’t really consider a cheat, because I could go to the factory and get them and will at some point).

The woman I walk with most days is 20 years my senior, and kicks my ass every time we walk.  She listens to my challenge and is slightly interested, but has now started reading labels.  She was eating crackers today, Saltines, perhaps, and was shocked to find high fructose corn syrup in the crackers.  Hopefully I’m planting little educational seeds all around by what I’m doing.  I have missed saltines too, but didn’t realize the HFC value.

Next challenge is a great sandwich.  A blt is perfect, but there has to be something else I can do with my good bread.

Happy Eating!

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge, Day 16”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Sigh. I REALLY need to splurge on a Kitchenaid!


Leave a Reply

