Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

100% Whole Wheat Bread January 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 5:56 pm
Tags: , , ,

This morning I broke out the Kitchen Aid, (I consider this an ordeal) and embarked upon my first all local flour  bread challenge.  I had 100% Whole Wheat Flour from Richardson Farms and Round Rock Honey waiting to become something yummy.  I’ve been wondering if any bread made from only wheat flour, stood a chance at being anything other than a weighty, dense rock, and I was pleasantly surprised.  Almost as soon as I pulled these loaves from the oven, I made a local BLT, using Kocurek’s bacon, my lettuce, and a farmer’s market tomato.  It was really good!  The whole process took about 2 hours, some of that time spent rising, and some baking.

 

2 Responses to “100% Whole Wheat Bread”

  1. smilinggreenmom Says:

    Your bread looks beautiful! I have a bread machine that I love to use but would just be so thrilled to bake a loaf in the oven if I were brave enough 🙂 I would like to try a bread using Kamut Khorasan Wheat even!

    • Thank you! This bread was very easy to make, and required very little kneading. I had expected it to be denser, since it is 100% whole wheat, but it was pretty light. I love watching bread rise, it is so gratifying.


Leave a Reply

