Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge Day 10 January 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 1:42 pm
Tags:

I’m starting to try new things due to this challenge, which was my goal.  Breakfast today was more duck egg quiche, lunch was a salad, and for dinner I smoked a Richardson Farm chicken in the smoker I bought a week ago.  I used hickory wood in the smoker, and had a continuous supply of smoke to the chicken, despite reading that smoke is only adds flavor at the beginning of the process.  The end result, in my opinion, was a fairly smoky chicken – too smoky for my liking.  I think the ribs and future briskets will hold up to such a strong flavor, but it was more than I like for a chicken.

 

Leave a Reply

