Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Store Challenge Days 8 and 9 January 11, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 12:29 am
Tags:

Ah, best laid plans.  I got a bit off of my well planned menu yesterday due to unanticipated events.  I had some quiche for brunch, then went to a baby shower and proceeded to eat chips, dip and other stuff I shouldn’t have.  The shower turned into an after shower and I didn’t get home in time to make my snapper for dinner or shrimp for salad.

Today, day 9, I had plans to meet a group of foodie  folks at a Dim Sum event for lunch, which I did.  The Farmer’s Market snapper is in the oven now, topped with tomatoes, peppers (my pickled jalapenos) onions, olives, and a squeeze of Meyer Lemon from the market.    The shrimp are roasting in the oven.  I’ll have garden broccoli and salad with the snapper, and then peel the shrimp and make shrimp salad for the next couple of days.  The Richardson Farm’s chicken is not even close to thawed so I’m not sure if it will be ready to cook tomorrow night.  I’m going to make a lemon viniagrette to go with the salad and shrimp salad.

I’m still reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle.  I wish there was more information about this family’s attempt to eat only locally, and not so much preaching about the problems with industrialized agriculture.   I find myself skipping over the lectury parts.  I’m pretty familiar with the problems in our food supply, which I why I launched this venture to begin with, so I find it a little annoying.

 

2 Responses to “No Grocery Store Challenge Days 8 and 9”

  1. Optimista Says:

    That snapper sounds fantastic! Great to see you today.

    • It was good. A standard recipe that is much better with loads of cilantro and garlic, but I didn’t have any of either. Today was perfect, I had a great time. It was such a great idea, thanks for organizing it! See you very soon for Earthbox and vino.


Leave a Reply

