Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Time to Start Planning for Spring Garden January 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 3:24 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know, its 12 degrees out and everything is iced over, including my tomato cages.  But, Spring will be here in no time, and it is time to start thinking about what to plant.  If  you are inclined to start inside from seed, you should be ordering, or buying tomato seeds in the next month.  I have purchased many heirloom varieties from Tomatofest.  The most succesful were the Costoluto Genovese, although I didn’t love the flavor.  I did love the Purple Cherokee, Chocolate Cherokee, and Black Cherokee tomatoes.  Very mild and less acidic than non-heirloom varieties.  I ate them like candy.  I have not decided whether I’ll do seeds this year, I have had so much more success with transplants.  Some of my best transplants came from the Sunshine Community Garden plant sale, which I believe was in March.  Anyway, while you are inside, escaping the sub-freezing temperatures, why not think about what you are going to grow in the Spring.

Ice on the tomato cages

 

2 Responses to “Time to Start Planning for Spring Garden”

  1. sandragardens Says:

    Hi Carla,
    I hope your garden made it through all the cold weather we have had. I wanted to let you know that I have finally set up my blog and I have a twitter account to re-count my gardening experience. I was hoping to get this accomplished before now. When you have an opportunity, check out my blog.

    http://sandragardens.wordpress.com/
    http://twitter.com/sandragardens

    Stay Warm – Sandra


Leave a Reply

