Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

No Grocery Challenge Day 4 January 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 1:09 am
Tags:

The more non-local food I start to miss, the more I am inspired to recreate some of the things that come in boxes.  Tonight, it was saltines.  I made chili with the leftover ground beef from last night, and the tomatoes I pureed from Sunday’s market.  I used typical chili spices, but no beans as they wouldn’t be local.  My friend Cecilia, who may join my endeavor in the Spring, suggested that spices and leavenings should be permitted, lest I go with totally bland food and nothing meant to rise.  So, I have some yeast and spices, but I may need to get more once I procure Richardson’s flour, hopefully tomorrow at the Triangle Market.  My shopping will be more creative tomorrow, out of sheer boredom, and I think that’s a good thing! I have Kocurek Family Charcuterie – gumbo thawing for tomorrow night, and their fabulous and all local cassoulet in the freezer for another bitterly cold day.  So things are looking up!  Bring on Day 5.  Oh, and I’ve been drinking water and Nile Valley Hibiscus Mint tea, from the  Farmer’s Market, although I’m almost out, so I hope to see them tomorrow.

Today:  salad from Julio’s, and all local chili.  I’ve been too lazy and cold in the morning to get up and make breakfast.

 

Leave a Reply

