Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

My Eat Only Local Challenge-Day 1 January 2, 2010

Last night I was pondering whether I could go a year without buying anything from a grocery store.  I have a large garden and I frequent farmer’s markets on a weekly basis.  Several folks chimed in on Twitter, that it could be done.  Today, I decided to try it and see how it goes.  I have a freezer full of Thunderheart Bison, Richardson Farms beef and pork, Kocurek Family sausages, stock, and gumbo, and in the fridge are local eggs, chicken and duck, Pure Luck cheese, a pitcher of hibiscus tea from the farmer’s market, tomatoes and radishes from the farmer’s market, and my own lettuce and broccoli.  I have olives, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar from the market and today I bought tangerines, mushrooms and green onions at the market.  So, I think I’m good to go.

What I’m not going to do:  I’m not going to only drink Texas wine.  Just not going to.  I’m not stop using toothpaste, shampoo, or my favorite soap, although I could get soap at the farmer’s market.  And, I’m going to continue to eat out, because that’s not part of this challenge.  I’m not going to be overly concerned with where the restaurants get their food either, that is a challenge for someone else.  I will say that most of the places I eat out, get their meat and vegetables from local sources, but not all do.  I already know that I could not go a year without eating salmon, and I can’t get that at the farmer’s market, although I can get shrimp and fish.

So, this morning I had fresh tangerine juice, I had lunch at a local mexican food restaurant with my mom, and dinner will be grilled Thunderheart bison steaks, local mushrooms cooked in local duck fat and basalmic vinegar, my own broccoli and a salad with my lettuce, market tomatoes, Pure Luck Farms Chevre, and local olive oil and vinegar.  I’m already anticipating what I’m going to miss, sandwiches at Fresh Plus, lots of things from Central Market and Whole Foods prepared items.  I just bought a smoker, in anticipation of missing the smoked brisket from Whole Foods.

 

4 Responses to “My Eat Only Local Challenge-Day 1”

  1. Optimista Says:

    So impressed that you’re trying this. Such a huge commitment! Yay you!

  2. So far it has been pretty easy, although I’m bummed about no avocados. It takes some planning, since I can’t just run to the store. There will be lots of lessons!

  3. marshall Says:

    Good luck, Carla! I love the idea of this and can’t wait to see all the new things you discover.


Leave a Reply

