Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

January Vegetable Planting Guide for Austin, Zone 8 January 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:35 pm
Tags: , , , ,

January is time to plant many vegetables in our neck of the woods.  Here is a list of what to plant in January, along with dates to maturity.  Callahan’s General Store had lots of onion starts today.

Asparagus           (won’t produce until 2nd year)

Cabbage               65-80

Carrots                 70-80

Lettuce                 60-80

Mustard                40-50

Onions                   100-120

Peas                        60-80

Potatoes                70-80

Radish                    25-30

Spinach                  40-45

Turnips                  45-65

 

4 Responses to “January Vegetable Planting Guide for Austin, Zone 8”

  1. Optimista Says:

    We need to plan an EarthBox date! I’d love to plant some radishes if you think I have room with kale.

  2. GardenRookie Says:

    Hi, I am a true rookie raised bed gardener & am looking for resources to guide me through! I have 2 raised boxes that are 4′ wide x 12′ long x 3.5′ deep. We put about 4 inches of broken concrete in the bottom & were going to put another 3 in of mulch for added filtration. Can you advise what type of soil, ammendments, etc to use for maximum growth in this type of environment?

    thanks in advance!

    • Hey, thanks for reading. With 3.5′ depth, I think adding some mulch to bulk up the lower foot of the beds would be a good idea, and would improve drainage and reduce the cost of the amount of soil it would take to fill the beds. 3.5′ is deep, and that will be lots of soil. The deepest beds we’ve ever installed were 30 inches, and you are at 41 inches. At least you’ll never have to bend over to garden, which is nice. We use the Hill Country Blend from the Natural Gardener, on our installations. On my own gardens, I amend my soil with worm castings and my own compost. Sylvan makes a great compost blend that I also use sometimes. I’m kind of nuts about the worm castings though, I think they add great nutrients to the soil and you can’t use too much because they don’t overheat or burn the soil. ActinoIron is a good addition, as is cottonseed meal. The cottonseed meal tends to draw flies, so don’t put it on top of the soil, mix it in at a lower level. Feel free to ask anything. I’m certainly no expert and make mistakes all the time, but I learn something new just about every day.


Leave a Reply

