Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Resolve to Eat Local in Austin in 2010 December 31, 2009

I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions, because they usually are too grandios for success.  My future goals include growing more of my own food, supplementing my home grown produce with produce from the farmer’s market, and eating no meat of unknown origin.  I admitted to a friend today, that I have not stuck to the latter, buying only locally sourced, humanely raised, hormone free meats, 100%.  If a local grocery store sends me an email advertising ribeyes for $8.99 per pound, I have stocked up, without asking the source.  I am going to commit to eat healthier, and stick to my goal of buying from local farmers, so that I can control what I consume.    Food, Inc., the movie, still looms in my conscience every day and I highly recommend it to everyone.  I don’t want salmonella or E coli, but I don’t want hamburger that has been washed in bleach, or chicken breasts from chickens who were bred to have such large breasts they couldn’t stand up.    That’s just me.

In that vain, I spent much of the day amongst local farmers.  See previous posts about Boggy Creek Farms.  Below are pictures from this afternoon’s Farmer’s Market held at the Triangle Development, every Wednesday from 3:00 to 7:00.  What an amazing array of beautiful, organic, humane food.  This market, like the Downtown Farmer’s Market on Saturday mornings, is sponsored by the Sustainable Food Center, an organization committed to helping folks eat local, healthy organic food, and supporting local farms.  I’m not a photographer, so I hope the pictures are OK.

Local Honey

Engel Farms Produce

Richardson Farms

Today's offerings from Kocurek Family Artisinal Charcuterie

Kocurek Family Artisinal Charcuterie

Sustainable Food Center demonstration table, cooking shrimp

 

Leave a Reply

