Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Seeding for Lettuce in the Austin Winter Garden December 30, 2009

I have harvested much of the bibb lettuce and Black Seeded Simpson and it is time to re-seed so that I can have fresh lettuce in January and February.  Tomorrow, with the soil wet from the cold rain, I’ll seed for more Black Seeded Simpson, Buttercrunch, Lolla Rossa and Gourmet Baby Greens from Botanical Interests, one of my favorite seed companies.  One packet of lettuce seeds costs $1.89, or $1.99, (huge pack is $4.99) takes less than five minutes to plant, less than five minutes to harvest and will provide lettuce for a long time.  Good healthy food from the yard, with no chemicals, no unknowns, no seeds that have been genetically modified to be “Round-up Resistant”.  Just good healthy home grown food.  I’m committing myself to grow as much food as I can, and buy from local sources as much as possible from now on.  (Especially meat)  I’ve been eating locally for several years, but not in a wholly dedicated way.  Now that I’ve learned what I have about our food supply, I’m going to make more of an effort going forward.  And it starts in my own back yard.

lettuce seeds

 

Leave a Reply

