Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Onion Planting Day December 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 5:12 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The onion starts arrived from Dixondale Farms a few days ago, so I’ve been anxious to get them in the garden.  The raised beds on the side of my house had been resting since I pulled up the peppers and tomatoes before the first freeze, about a month ago.  Today I amended the soil with some worm castings, may favorite soil amendment,  raked them in, then loosened the soil with the rake.  I poked holes for the onions using a wooden stake, meant for marking herbs, because it was pointed and just laying around.  No fancy tools here.  Then I planted about 50 onions, composed of 3 short day varieties.  Not all of them will make it, some, especially the red variety, in my experience, will bolt (go to seed).  When that happens, a rigid stalk shoots up from the middle and forms a bulb at the end.  I’ll post their progress as time goes on, and post pictures of the bolted ones as well.

Baby onions

 

5 Responses to “Onion Planting Day”

  1. Sandra Says:

    Hi Carla,
    I am happy to see you planted your onions. I planted mind around early October. I planted both yellow and red from onion sets I got from Walmart. I am buying cheaper vegetable sets until I become more confident in my growing of vegetables and fruits. I will keep you posted on my progress.

    Best,
    Sandra

  2. Cedarparkgardner Says:

    I can’t find any onion sets. Do you know where I can find some locally?


Leave a Reply

