Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Winter Garden in Austin December 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 11:21 pm
Tags: , , ,

One of the good things about my failure to harvest some of the broccoli before it went to seed, is that the bees love the broccoli flowers!  We need bees to pollinate much of our food plants, and they are disappearing.  So whenever I see bees, I’m happy.  The cabbage plants look gorgeous, and the spinach is beautiful as well, and needs to be harvested.  Lots of gardening to do tomorrow.

Bees on Broccoli Flowers

Cabbage

 

2 Responses to “Winter Garden in Austin”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Oh! That cabbage is gorgeous! It makes me want to make pad thai.

    There are just toooooo many things I want to grow myself. I hope I don’t overcrowd my new Earthbox!

  2. Sandra Says:

    Impressive pictures of your winter garden. I am still waiting for my broccoli, cabbage and spinach to make some progress. I believe I may have transplanted late for the season. We will see…


Leave a Reply

