Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

A non-gardening post = Cookie Swap! December 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 4:49 am
Tags: , ,

Cookie Table No. 1I have been so fortunate to meet lots of foodie minded people in the last year.  2009 was good to me, friend-wise.  I have met so many people, with whom I have so much in common.  I can’t resist but to try to broaden our common bonds, by introducing non-gardeners to gardens.  I’ve been surprised that so many foodies, feel that growing food is an out of reach goal.  I don’t know how many people have told me “I have a black thumb!”   It’s really all about bad soil, so it isn’t their fault.  In Austin, if you want to grow food, you really either need to majorly overhaul your soil, or build a raised bed.

Last Sunday, I hosted a cookie swap, to which lots of foodie minded people were invited.  Most of them were food bloggers, polite enough to let me be a part of their group, although I’m not a food blogger.  So, it is to them, that this food post it dedicated.

Some of these photos are redundant of the Statesman article, but the massive amount of sugar and butter involved, must be witnessed to be appreciated.

All or most of the cookie recipes will be available, as well as the recipes from the final 5 contestants in the Statesman’s Cookie Swap.   That contest was tonight, but I won’t give away the winner, as I’m sure it will be in the Statesman.

 

One Response to “A non-gardening post = Cookie Swap!”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Hey, you write a blog, and it includes information about food you grow in your garden! That totally counts. However, we would nevertheless be clamoring for you to be part of the food bloggers’ group even if it didn’t.


Leave a Reply

