Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Time to Plant Onions! December 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 1:35 pm
Tags: , , , ,

One of my favorite vegetables to grow is onions.  They are planted in the winter, and need very little care.  I’ve had two raised gardens on the side of my house, prepared, and waiting for the onions to arrive from Dixondale Farms.  They got here a couple of days ago, and I will get them in the ground this weekend.  Onions are very rewarding and so tasty fresh from the garden.  They keep for months on end if properly stored.  Here is what they look like in their shipping box.  This is a lot of onions, but I will split them with a friend.  It is a sampler containing purple onions, white and yellow onions.  I’ll post their progress as time goes on.

Onions

 

3 Responses to “Time to Plant Onions!”

  1. Optimista Says:

    Pretty! Can you eat the tops of those, too?

    • If allowed to fully mature, the onions will be regular onion size, and the very tops will wilt and fall over. You could use the 6 or 8 inches above the onion as chives, but they might be quite strong since chives are usually grown as chives or just the tops of Spring onions. They would be good to flavor stock or stews though, although I’ve always just thrown them into the compost. Good food for thought. I’m looking forward to tomorrow! We’ll have lots to talk about #cookiemadness. See you then.

  2. Jill Says:

    I hope your onion garden turns out well. I am finally going to get to plant a garden this year and I am so excited. I love fresh home grown vegetables . Now, I am going to get to grow them myself with the help of my husband.


Leave a Reply

