Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Eating Local, and Food, Inc. December 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 4:19 am
Tags:

I’ve been growing my own food, in increasing quantities for years, at first for fun, then later for health reasons and control of what I was eating.  I had not really given much thought to it, or to the meat I purchased, or what else I ate.  I knew I didn’t want to eat anything processed, from a box, or given an “Instant” label, I just wanted to eat whole food.   My parents were excited for their evening meal of Wolf Brand Chili, and didn’t appreciate it that I read the nutritional information to them.  They didn’t want to know. Tonight I watched “Food, Inc.”  a movie based on the book “Omnivore’s Dilema” by Joel Pollan.  I am too exhausted from the movie to go into much detail, but would like to encourage everyone to watch it, to eat locally, humanely sourced, (rather that industrially farmed animals) and to grow some food at home.  It isn’t hard.  If you have bad soil (which Austin does) you need a raised bed.  It needs good soil and water and not much else.   They can be made from anything; the ones we sell are recycled plastic and wood fibers, but many folks construct them out of wood or cinder blocks.    My plea to people after seeing  Food, Inc. is to grow some food, don’t eat anything processed, and be really careful about where the rest comes from.

 

2 Responses to “Eating Local, and Food, Inc.”

  1. Caroline Says:

    How funny. Jack and I watched “Food, Inc.” tonight as well. I feel the same as you after it – exhausted. And dispirited. And royally ticked off. I may only be one small human being but I’ll be damned if I eat anything from Smithfield again. Monsanto, UGH, evil incarnate.


Leave a Reply

