Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Strawberry Patch October 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 9:34 pm
Tags:

It’s time to plant strawberries!  I bought 2 flats but I saw that Central Market is selling them in hanging baskets.  Not a bad idea, but I think you’d have to protect the hanging baskets against a hard freeze moreso, than if they were in the ground.  They are pretty little plants, and some will produce now through Spring.  Some varieties, Spring only.  Here’s my little strawberry patch:

103109 014

Strawberries in raised garden

 

3 Responses to “Strawberry Patch”

  1. Sandra Says:

    Just saw your strawberry patch. Where did you get your strawberry plants? I have been looking for them in Austin.

    • Hey Sandra. I got mine at a new place on Koenig Lane, Backyard Salvage and Garden about a month ago. I have seen them at Sledd’s Nursery on West Lynn and also at the Natural Gardener, although, the Natural Gardener seems to sell out then restock, so you might call first. I love The Great Outdoors on South Congress, as well, but don’t know about their strawberry stock. Most nurseries stock of on Fridays, for the weekend, so calling in advance should save you a trip. Thanks for reading my silly little blog!

  2. Sandra Says:

    Thank you for the information. I may check out Backyard Salvage as I live in Northwest Austin and it is more accessible for me. In addition, I may check out Red Barn Nursery and Country Side Nursery. Actually, I have enjoyed your little blog as I am new to gardening and it is nice to see backyard/sideyard gardeners like ourselves have some success gardening. I will try to post some pictures to show some of my success.


Leave a Reply

