Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Time to Plant Strawberries October 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 3:59 pm
Tags:

Now is the best time to plant strawberry plants in Austin (in my opinion.)  I prefer the Sequoia variety and just purchased a flat.  As soon as the rain slacks off, I will set out my strawberry plants in one of my raised beds, and mulch heavily around each of the plants.  The mulch helps keep moisture in, helps keep the plants warmer in the winter, and you don’t want your strawberries laying in the dirt.  I’m contemplating using hay, rather than hardwood mulch this time around.

 

One Response to “Time to Plant Strawberries”

  1. Its nice to see you posting on this topic, I have to bookmark this web site. Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

