Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Fall Tomatoes October 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:47 pm
Tags:

Late this summer I planted several varieties of heirloom tomatoes for Fall.  Most of what I planted have produced tomatoes that are now starting to ripen, in spite of the lack of sunshine the last few days.  My favorite variety so far, is the Chocolate Cherry.  It is a bit odd to see a brown tomato, especially a brown cherry, but the flavor is amazing.    I also planted Black Cherry tomatoes, however none have ripened so I have not tasted those.  I will plant Chocolate Cherries again in the Spring and can’t wait for more!

 

Leave a Reply

