Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Fall Garden in Austin September 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 1:08 am
Tags:

So, inspired after all the incredible rainfall and cool weather, I was motivated to get my garden in great shape for my favorite, gardening season, Fall and Winter. So much to do.  In the two smallish raised beds on the side of the house, are tomatoes and peppers.  The peppers are still rocking right along.  The tomatoes have struggled, but I think I’ve got a good mix to keep providing tomatoes for at least a couple of months.  The pepper garden will be cleaned out in November, and will become a dedicated strawberry garden, once I get the soil amended.

The 24′ garden in the back, has Black Seeded Simpson lettuce, my very favorite variety, in 3 stages of planting, broccoli, cabbage, tomatoes, green beans and eggplant.  I don’t even like eggplant, but I’m going to try to love it, because it is easy to grow.  Now is a great time for cauliflower transplants, but I hate cauliflower.  I have seeds for spinach, carrots, radishes, snap peas and spinach which will go into the new bed tomorrow.

I was reminded of what is perhaps an old wive’s tale today, but who knows – to shake the tomato plants to get them to pollinate.  So, as traffic drove by this afternoon, I was gently shaking my tomato plants, which looked crazy, I’m sure.  Several have put on new fruit since the cool nights, so I’ll do anything.

Will order onions next month, strawberries in December.    Gotta keep ahead of the game…  So much to do…

 

2 Responses to “Fall Garden in Austin”

  1. Chris Says:

    I am curious about lettuce. I have never grown it, but would like to try some this fall. For something like Black Seeded Simpson, will a single plant keep producing as you harvest leaves here and there, indefinitely, as long as it’s not too hot or cold? Or does it “run its course” at some point and stop replenishing itself?

    Thanks!

  2. carla Says:

    Hey Chris,

    I have read that the Black Seeded Simpson will replenish itself somewhat, but found that not to be the case. I plant the lettuce seeds all fall winter and spring, every two weeks to keep a continuous supply. Last year, I tried other varieties, such as the butter lettuce which was a bit wimpy and the blends which bolted easily. The Black Seeded Simpson remains my favorite. It grows really fast too. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

