Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Fall Raised Garden Plans August 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 2:41 pm
Tags:

While still struggling to keep my summer squash and cucumbers alive in this heat, I’ve got a good crop of bush beans started, and lots and lots of tomatoes.  Some are flowering, however it is still to hot to set fruit, so I’m just keeping them watered and fed, until the nights become a little cooler.  I’ve got lots of varieties of pepper plants, some new, some from the start of summer.  Most have produced peppers, but none have gotten very large.  Some ripen when still downright tiny.  As I posted before, I attempted to start broccoli from seed in the greenhouse, hoping to have sturdy transplants in several weeks.  This attempt failed, as it was too hot for the little seedlings.  I’m just going to try again, this time sowing the broccoli seeds directly into the garden.  I also purchased some 40% shade cloth and I’m going to begin planting lettuce and arugula under the cloth.  I’m so looking foward to fresh lettuce again!

 

Leave a Reply

