Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Tomato Seedlings for Fall July 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:57 pm
Tags:

I was not brave enough to set out more than a couple of the heirloom seedlings I started weeks ago. Most of the tomatoes I planted in the last couple weeks are hybrid cherry varieties, that are heat tolerant and well established. Most of my black cherry, chocolate cherry, black krim, and chocolate cherokee seedlings are still in the greenhouse, but coming along nicely. I think I’ll keep them there for another 2 to 3 weeks, while the last of my Spring Cherry tomatoes ripen. Then I”ll pull those up, amend the soil with worm castings, cottonseed meal, compost and Actinoiron, then plant the seedlings. The side garden gets some dappled shade from a pecan tree, so they will be safe from brutal August full sun.
fall tomatoes 023

 

Leave a Reply

