Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Heirloom Tomato Seeds in Austin June 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:14 pm
Tags:

I stopped by the Great Outdoors today to get some Liquid Seaweed to feed my garden with, to help it get through this heat. They were having a tomatofest, of sorts, and had samples of many different kinds of heirloom tomatoes from local farms. I got my seaweed and was ready to leave, when I saw the seed stand. I am a sucker for seeds, and am about to start my tomato seeds for the fall garden. So, I found some Black Cherry, Chocolate Cherry, Black Krim and some Celebrity seeds. I needed seeds no more than I need a flat tire, but there you are.

 

2 Responses to “Heirloom Tomato Seeds in Austin”

  1. Chris Says:

    Good to know. When do you put your fall tomatos outside? I’m wanting to try some this season for the first time and am worried about the heat. Do you use shade cloth or anything?

    Thanks,
    Chris

    • Hey Chris, I’m going to start them inside today, then set them outside in about six weeks or so, the end of July. I did not use shadecloth last year, but it is so hot this summer, that probably will be a good idea through August.


Leave a Reply

