Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

First Tomato Casualty – Blossom End Rot May 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 3:22 pm
Tags: , ,

I just had to pull off and discard a tomato affected by Blossom End Rot. It was about half way to mature size and was an heirloom tomato. The raised gardens on the side of the house have an organic soil that I have grown to dislike, as it is too rocky and drains too well, which makes me think I have to water more often. It is meant for growing roses, but we had some left over from an installation where the customer requested it, so I used it. Now I’ve either got to figure out if I’ve overwatered, if the ph is off, or if the soil is lacking calcium. Can’t bear another tomato casualty. Still bug free, knock on wood.

 

Leave a Reply

