Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Tomato Cages April 28, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:44 pm
Tags:

I’m going to give anyone who will listen a helpful hint – something I learned the hard way.  Put large tomato cages on your tomatoes early in the game.  I’ve been wrestling with some 3 foot tall plants to get them into their cages for the last hour and it was not a pretty sight.  Only one broken limb, and one fallen tomato, but one is enough!  Put cages on them when they are small and not yet heavy with tomatoes, and you will save yourself  some hassle and heartache.  Good luck!

 

2 Responses to “Tomato Cages”

  1. Sounds like you had a fun time tomato wrestling 🙂

    I’m pretty sure I’m never using cages again. Stakes all the way for us next year! Some of my cages were completely overwhelmed by tomatoes. Most of the vines were way too tall for the cage. And one plant brought the whole cage crashing down. However, these tomatoes are mostly 10-12 feet tall at this late date. I think the scheduling of Texas gardens is different because of y’all’s heavy midsummer heat…

    • Yes, I will not make the mistake of waiting to long again. The cages have not been the perfect solution, I too had some really tall tomato plants. I haven’t tried stakes, that’s a good idea. We have had 62 or 63 days of triple digit heat down here, so growing anything without shade cloth is a challenge. I’m looking forward to a more temperate climate soon, hopefully. Happy Gardening!


Leave a Reply

