Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

I’m an Impatient Gardener April 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 10:02 pm
Tags: , , ,

Yep, curiosity got the best of me. Months of wondering how the onions and potatoes were growing under the ground, proved to be too much for me to bear. So, I pulled up what appeared to be the biggest onion, and dug up some potatoes. The potato in the photo was by far the largest one, the others too tiny to even keep.potato-and-onion

 

2 Responses to “I’m an Impatient Gardener”

  1. Kathy Says:

    That’s still cool. I came onto the gardening scene late this spring and missed out on potato and onion planting time. I can’t wait until next year to try building one of those potato towers. Enjoy your potatoes and onions for me 🙂

  2. Hey Kathy,
    I knew I wouldn’t make it without pulling up a potato. I think I planted onions and potatoes both in January. Strawberries were planted in December. I love year round gardening. I had the onion for dinner in a salad with lettuce from the garden with some goat cheese from a local farm. No more ripe tomatoes just yet. Eating food from the yard is awesome! Thanks for reading my blog. I don’t always know exactly what to say. Pictures seem to do the trick.
    Carla


Leave a Reply

