Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Bringing the Heat – Homemade Sriracha (Fermented Red Chile) July 23, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 7:23 pm
Tags: , , ,

This is the time of  year that the chiles start turning red, even the ones that are green earlier in the season, like jalapeños and serranos.

Red Serrano Peppers

Red Serrano Peppers

I played around a couple weeks ago with some fermented red chile paste, without really bothering to research it, or use a recipe.  I didn’t love the result.  So, with loads of red chiles, mostly serranos, ready for use, I did some research and settled on this recipe for Homemade Sriracha, from Serious Eats.

Homemade Sriracha

It was pretty straightforward; pulse 1.5 pounds of red chiles in the food processor with the garlic, salt and brown sugar.

Processed chiles, salt, sugar

Processed chiles, salt, sugar

The mixture went into a quart mason jar, with the lid very loose and I set it in a corner of the kitchen out of the sun.

Chile Mixture

Chile Mixture

I took off the lid every day and gave it a stir.  After 3 days, the mixture had expanded to the point that I considered putting half into another jar.  I decided to leave it.

Expanding!

Expanding!

It went back down after stirring the following day, and I left it alone until the 7th day.  

The recipe called for pureeing the mixture with vinegar, then straining it.

I put it in the Vitamix and blended it for about 4 minutes on a fairly high setting.   I was happy with the consistency and decided that I didn’t want to strain it.  I didn’t want to lose any and it was very smooth.  I put it on the stove, and let it simmer on medium for about 5 minutes, then let it cool. Once cooled, using a funnel, I poured in into a bottle. 

Blending

Blending

I am very happy with this batch, and looking forward to using it.  It is very hot, but the flavor is well balanced and consistency is great.

I have another batch, this one with smoked Paper Lantern (habanero) chiles fermenting now.  I will treat it the exact same way and expect a totally different sauce with the presence of smoke.

Finished Sriracha

Finished Sriracha

This is not a shelf stable product, so it will keep in the fridge for about a month, if it doesn’t get eaten by then.

 

 

4 Responses to “Bringing the Heat – Homemade Sriracha (Fermented Red Chile)”

  1. Diana Says:

    So what was the purpose of fermenting it? did the recipe say?

    • austinurbangardens Says:

      Hi Diana,
      This recipe replicates the store variety of Sriricha Rooster Sauce, which is also fermented. I believe the fermentation adds complexity to the flavor, and I am also interested in lacto-fermentation for health benefits. I suppose if you weren’t interested in fermenting it, you could cook all the ingredients down until soft, then puree them. I think the flavor would be more harsh peppery heat and vinegar, instead of a more melded flavor. If you try it, let me know!

      • Diana Says:

        yeah, i was assuming it was for flavor reasons – since the vinegar and heat should kill off most any good bacteria from the fermentation. i just hadn’t seen a recipe with it fermented before, so i was interested!

      • austinurbangardens Says:

        Thanks for the comment! Everything is new to me – I just like to try everything


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers