Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

Pickled Capperino Peppers July 14, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:52 am
Tags: , , ,

Springdale Farm had these beautiful little Capperino Peppers at the farmstand this past weekend, and I procured some with pickling them in mind.

Peppers

Peppers

They have fairly thick walls and are very seedy, so I thought it would be nice to hollow them out, and pickle them that way.  I imagine using them like Peppadews – simply open the jar, stuff with goat cheese or something, and use them for appetizers.

 

Seedy

Seedy

It was a little time consuming, but I hollowed them out and rinsed the seeds out.

 

Hollowed

Hollowed

 

Keeping the Peppadews in mind, I decided to add some sweetness, but not too much, to the brine.  I used my standard pickling blend, 2 cups Cider Vinegar, 2 Cups White Vinegar, 4 cups water, 4 teas. Salt and I added 4 Tbls. sugar.  The first three Tbls. of sugar neutralized the acid, and the final Tbls. added a hint of sweetness. I didn’t add any thing else to the brine, because I just want to preserve the pepper flavor, not add to it.  I processed them for 10 minutes in a boiling water bath.

 

Pickled

Pickled

I got some fruit float, which I expected, because these are hollow and I didn’t want to crush them, by packing them really tight.  I’m ok with it.

I can’t wait to crack a jar open and stuff them, like these Peppadews.  I think they will be hotter, but hopefully the hint of sweetness will neutralize the heat a bit.

 

Peppadews

Peppadews

 

2 Responses to “Pickled Capperino Peppers”

  1. I picked up a bag at the market yesterday, and now I know what I’ll do with them! Thanks, Carla!

  2. […] Pickled Capperino Peppers […]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers