Austin Urban Gardens

Raised Bed Gardening and Eating Well in Austin, Texas

America’s Birthday, 2014 in an Austin Urban Garden July 8, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — austinurbangardens @ 8:52 am
Tags: , , ,

It is interesting to me to look back and see the status of the garden the same time in previous years. This Spring has been so different from years past. We had some really late freezes that postponed Spring planting, and (until this week) have continued to have somewhat mild temperatures, and some good rains at regular intervals.

The side beds as I tackled them this long weekend, were a jungle of overgrown tomato plants, weeds (also happy with the rain), and cucumber and melon plants creeping in all of the paths between beds, wrapping their tendrils around the weeds. I pulled up the non producing tomatoes, Brandywines, Beefsteak, Cherokee Purple, Black Cherokee, none of which were very successful this year. I had one or two Cherokee Purple and one Brandywine. The French heirloom Jaunne Flamme, is still producing beautiful little orange fruits, and I’ve been very happy with it. The Black Krim also did well, as did the Celebrity plants which are still producing.

It is going to be an interesting melon  year this year, as I’ve planted some new-to-me varieties.  I’m somewhat obsessed with this French Heirloom, Prescott Fond Blanc, which will ripen into a warty, cantaloupe type melon.  I can’t stop looking at its craziness.

Prescott Fond Blanc Melon

Prescott Fond Blanc Melon

  There are several of these Diplomat F1 melons, which will ripen to look like a canteloupe on the outside, but with green flesh.

Diplomat F1 Melon

Diplomat F1 Melon

There are about 10 of these watermelons, all at different stages of growth.  I’ve yet to find the marker for these and have no idea what kind of watermelon I planted.  There are so many, I’m tempted to pull of the melons further down the vine, to allow more nutrients to get to the bigger ones.

Watermelon

Watermelon

The peppers have had a highly productive season, and still are producing like crazy.  I’ve really enjoyed the Poblanos, which have been great this year.  I sliced them up to use in a big batch of queso fundido for a party, and have a big bag of them smoked and frozen for later use.

Peppers

Peppers

I made Escabeche earlier in the season when the carrots were still sweet and available.  Yesterday, I pickled loads of Jalapenos and Serranos.  Now that they have started to ripen red, I’ll start smoking them for an epic annual Chipotles in Adobo canning session.  Chipotles are my favorite thing to can and my favorite canned item to eat.

Pickled peppers

Pickled peppers

Every year, I experiment with something new and different, just to keep things interesting.  This year, I’m attempting to grow peanuts.  They’ve been in the ground since early March, and have flowered quite a lot, but the plants are not  yet showing signs of decline – which is when they are supposed to be harvested.  I couldn’t help myself, and pulled up a plant this weekend to see what was going on.  They will dry for 2 weeks, then I’ll open one and taste it.

Peanuts

Peanuts

  My little potted fig tree didn’t seem to like all the rain, and doesn’t look great, but it is covered with figs.  Hopefully bird netting will keep the critters out.

Figs!

Figs!

  I planted too many cucumber plants, and planted late.  The vines have gone wild and taken over two gardens.  The leaves are so large, it is like a scavenger hunt to find the cucumbers in the mess. 

Cucumbers

Cucumbers

It’s time to plant pumpkins, but I haven’t decided whether I want to water them during the heat of July and August.  I always like to take some time off during the hottest part of the summer, and let the garden rest.  Fall planting will be here before we know it.

 

5 Responses to “America’s Birthday, 2014 in an Austin Urban Garden”

  1. Those PEANUTS! SO freaking cool! Your garden looks great, Carla – as always.

  2. austinurbangardens Says:

    Thank you Michelle. The peanuts are fun!

  3. Joy Says:

    Love the melons. I saw on facebook that if you put a growing melon in a box, it would take on the shape of the box. Never have grown melons to try it. So glad you are having a fruitful summer garden.

  4. austinurbangardens Says:

    Thank you Joy. That’s interesting about the melon shapes. They do sometimes flatten on the side that is on the ground, so that probably works!

  5. […] America’s Birthday, 2014 in an Austin Urban Garden […]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 98 other followers